Tags

, , , , , ,

I have to say, it’s really really weird being on the other side of a classroom. I like it, but it’s different. I’m volunteering at my elementary school as I want to go into Early Childhood Education in the Winter semester next year, and I have to say, it’s not easy being on the teacher side when you’re so used to being on the student side. Even simple things, like where to sit in an assembly: Someone brought me a chair, and I was like “Um… really? I can sit next to this kid on the floor.” But I guess not. What’s with this separation? If I want to sit on the floor, why can’t I? I don’t get it.

I also don’t understand the whole last name business. The ONLY person who called me Jennifer today in front of the four year olds was my music teacher from when I was in kindergarten. I’m barely two decades older than them. And Jen is a lot easier to say (I think anyway.) I guess I’ll have to get used to it. If anybody can offer me help on how to handle the transition, I’d be forever grateful.

As for the whole idea that there are two sides… I can’t exactly scoff at it, but I can critique it. With that in mind, there’ll probably be a lot more from me about the way transitioning really works from childhood to adulthood- if we really change our mindset, or our behaviours as we age.