Tags

, , ,

Couldn’t have said this better myself. It’s a combination of the ideas that we have wrapped up with children and morality etc. For a long time sex has been seen as something to be ashamed of; there’s an article called “The History of Sexuality” which might be of interest by Michael Foucault… Which I don’t have right now because I’m at my cottage this summer and although I did bring my anthologies I didn’t bring my coursepacks- Dang it. There are some subjects that are seen as “too mature” or “too personal” for children to learn about- this can lead to shame and there’s an incredible stigma about teenage pregnancy and still an embarrassment in talking about this in schools. I think young adult books try to address the concerns, but they’re graphic and glamorize sex- we swing from one extreme to the other- it’s perverse, or glamorous. It’s not discussed openly, to the point where books are a substitute for teaching about it rather than having conversations. It’s a taboo topic, partially because of the way it’s been seen and taught and talked about and it needs to change.

Cloud Nine Confessions

After reading a number of blog posts by well-educated and popular bloggers I have found an almost overwhelming number of posts with twisted views about sex and the teaching of sex education in schools. Now I won’t be the first to admit that I have often been disgusted by open conversations about sex and sometimes going as far to comment that the particular person is ‘vulgar’ or ‘vile’ but over time as I have become wiser and more informed about sex I have begun to realise that discussing sex openly is actually really important and completely necessary. Sex education in schools may be seen as ‘a step forward’ and ‘incredibly informative’ but the reality is that teachers do not need to gain any sort of qualification or training in order to teach sex education, a teacher would not be employed to teach a subject if they didn’t have a particular degree  in that field. So…

View original post 412 more words

